SDLAHP South Dakota Life Accident and Health Producer - Set 4 - Part 2

Test your knowledge of technical writing concepts with these practice questions. Each question includes detailed explanations to help you understand the correct answers.

Question 21: An applicant with a documented prior injury to one knee is offered a policy that permanently excludes coverage for any future loss connected to that specific knee, while the rest of the body remains normally covered. Which rider correctly describes that kind of arrangement?

Question 22: An insured is injured in a car accident four days after his disability income policy takes effect and promptly files a claim, while a coworker who falls ill from a cold on the same day is denied coverage under the probationary period rule. Which principle explains the different outcomes?

Question 23: An employer sponsoring a self-funded group health plan wants protection against a single catastrophic claim or an unusually high total of claims in one year, shifting responsibility for costs above a set point to an outside insurer. Which cost-sharing concept correctly names that protective arrangement?

Question 24: A young professional buys a disability income policy today but expects her earnings to grow substantially over the next decade as her career advances. Which rider would let her purchase additional disability coverage at specified future dates without having to prove continued good health at that time?

Question 25: One disability income applicant selects a benefit period that runs to a stated retirement age, while a coworker with a similar policy instead selects a benefit period of a fixed number of years regardless of age at disablement. Which statement correctly compares these two available benefit period structures?

Question 26: A disability income applicant selects a rider guaranteeing that if she files few or no claims over a stated period, the insurer will refund a portion of premiums paid during that span. Which rider provides this kind of refund based on a low claims experience?

Question 27: A rider attached to a policy lets the insured purchase additional amounts of coverage at specified future option dates or life events without submitting new evidence of health, regardless of any medical changes since the policy was issued. Which rider correctly matches that description?

Question 28: A business applies for, pays the premium on, and is named as both owner and beneficiary of a disability income policy covering one of its most valuable employees. Which party receives the monthly disability benefit if that key employee later becomes disabled and a claim is approved?

Question 29: Two business partners fund a written agreement requiring the healthy partner to purchase the disabled partner's ownership share if that partner remains totally disabled beyond a stated waiting period, using proceeds from a dedicated disability policy. Which type of coverage funds this kind of ownership transfer?

Question 30: An insurer's claims manual states that an insured is not totally disabled under the any-occupation test merely because she cannot find work, but only if she remains able to perform an occupation reasonably suited to her background. Which phrase captures the qualifier that limits this any-occupation standard?

Question 31: A disability income contract pays a stated partial disability benefit equal to half the total disability amount whenever the insured can perform some but not all occupational duties, without requiring proof of any specific dollar amount of lost income. Which feature distinguishes this partial benefit from a residual disability benefit?

Question 32: A health policy pays benefits for a covered hospitalization only for a defined span of time, after which no further benefits are paid for that same confinement even if the insured remains hospitalized. Which cost-sharing term correctly names that defined span of time?

Question 33: An insurer receives timely notice of a claim from an insured but fails to send the required claim forms within the period the policy specifies for doing so. Which statement correctly describes what the insured may then do to satisfy the proof of loss requirement?

Question 34: An applicant was treated for a chronic condition shortly before applying for an accident and health policy, and the insurer wants to limit its exposure for that specific condition for a defined period after issue. Which concept correctly describes that limited exclusion?

Question 35: An insured's combined deductible, coinsurance, and copayment spending during a benefit period reaches the ceiling stated in the health plan, after which the insurer pays the full amount of further covered expenses for the rest of that period. Which cost-sharing term correctly names that ceiling?

Question 36: An insured moves from a warehouse loading job into a lower-risk clerical position and reports the change to the insurer as required by the policy. Under a typical change of occupation clause, which adjustment might the insured reasonably expect the insurer to make going forward?

Question 37: A disability income policy includes a rider letting the insured raise the monthly benefit amount at set future option dates without submitting new proof of insurability, helping the benefit keep pace with rising income and living costs over time. Which rider correctly matches that description?

Question 38: A claims examiner reviewing a presumptive disability claim confirms the insured suffered total and permanent loss of hearing in both ears from a covered accident. Which additional element, ordinarily required for an ordinary total disability claim, does the presumptive provision specifically excuse the insured from proving?

Question 39: An insurer issues an individual accident and health policy along with the signed application and one attached rider. Under the mandatory uniform provisions, which statement correctly identifies what forms the whole agreement between the insurer and the policyowner once the policy is delivered?

Question 40: An insurer retains the right to decline renewal of an accident and health policy on any premium due date, entirely at the insurer's own discretion, without needing to cite any specific reason tied to that particular insured. Which renewability classification correctly matches this arrangement?


Complete the Captcha to view next question set.

Don't Want to Study?

Save Time on Studies, Spend More with Family & Friends! Pay-After-you-Pass!

Get Exam Support